Medicine Hat Media

You Call That Service?

I have been to the Silver Buckle on two other occasions besides on St. Patty’s Day, and 2/3 of my experiences were terrible!

My first experience was on a wing night. The place was steady but far from being overly busy. It was forever until we even received a “hello” from a waitress, yet she passed us numerous times. We finally got our drinks and wings, however we were missing a couple orders of wings. We let the waitress know, and she confirmed they’d be at our table soon. I asked for a water and she said I had to pay over $2 for a bottle of water, stating, that on wing nights, they do not give out free water! But yet, I had a couple drinks already and had bought numerous orders of wings! Needless to say after an hour we still had yet to receive our missing wings or any refills on our drinks. When trying to get our tab we had to hunt her down, to find out she transferred it to another server, and to find her! When we finally received our tab, it  had drinks on it we never had and still had the wings on it we never received! I told the new server we did not recieve the wings or the drinks and she said she’d figure it out for us. The old waitress then came back with the receipt and asked what was wrong. We explained and she told us she’d get us two sets of wings for free. We denied, since we’ve been there over an hour and a half and were ready to leave. She then became very rude, told us she’d take off the wings we didn’t receive and stormed off. Before leaving I asked the bar if I could speak to a manager, they told me no one was in and to phone later. I did, and still no manager, so I left my name and number, and of course I did not get a call back.

I returned on on St. Patty’s Day with a group, intending to have a sociable night. It took us 20 minutes just to receive our first drink, and when our drink arrived the order was all wrong, however that wasn’t a big deal. We were far from picky. After a good half hour, our drinks were empty and the waitress hadn’t been back. After 45 minutes and no sign of the waitress, me and my husband decided to hit the bar for our drinks, where we witnessed our server hanging off a customer and taking shots! At the beginning we didn’t think anything about the lack of service, because the place was busy and giving the waitress the benefit of the doubt, but to see her doing shots instead of serving the customers is very unprofessional. Throughout the night we witnessed her behind the bar taking shots and when she did finally come back to our table, she was incoherent and stumbling! It was then we decided to pay our tab and leave.

Very unprofessional!

User Comments

8 Responses to “You Call That Service?”

  1. April 5th, 2011 at 9:21 AM

    Not Frustrated with Service says:

    Sorry to hear of your crappy service. We have gone to the Silver Buckle on many Wednesdays for wings and have always had great service. It is super busy in there on wing night, but still have had great service.

  2. April 5th, 2011 at 9:25 AM

    Sean says:

    I’ve never had bad service at The Silver Buckle, just a few odd servers who have interesting personalities. My experiences have always been made better by the fact that they have an old school Frogger video game console there, with which we usually annoy everyone else with its loud sounds.

  3. April 5th, 2011 at 9:27 AM

    Vaughn says:

    Expecting good service on St. Patty’s day is probably an exercise in futility, but I believe your other experience was just a fluke. I’ve been there tons of times and never had any bad service.

  4. April 5th, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    Brian says:

    Although I don’t frequent the Buckle I’ve never had bad service there either. Sorry you had bad service. Their website ( appears to have names, numbers and e-mail addresses for the various owners or managers.

  5. April 5th, 2011 at 10:46 AM

    anon says:

    I’ve always had fantastic service even on really busy Friday and Saturday nights. In fact, I would say I’m impressed with the attention the servers provide – we never wait for refills. Why would you return to an establishment if you had such bad service? There are plenty of other bars in town. Expecting anything more than drinks from the bar on St. Patrick’s Day is expecting too much. You indicate that you did have one good experience, so why do you feel the need to complain about an obvious fluke?

  6. April 5th, 2011 at 1:13 PM

    Mike says:

    I always hated that they charge for water there. For that reason I choose to go elsewhere.

  7. April 8th, 2011 at 10:38 AM

    Dusty Melling says:

    I wouldn’t say the service is bad but it does get busy, as a result I don’t go there to avoid impossible service and long confusing periods trying to pay my bill. I also find it deafeningly loud whenever a band is playing, no matter where in the building you are.

  8. April 8th, 2011 at 6:55 PM

    4everspoken says:

    anon- I returned, B\c I would not judge a place by one experience. As I stated, it wasn’t the fact we had empty drinks all night on St.Pattys, but the fact that our waitress was DRUNK, and drinking instead of serving her customers is what made us upset. In clear view we witnessed her do shot after shot. Not only is that illegal but very very unprofessional.
    Thats great you had good service there, we unfortunately didn’t, both times.

Leave a Reply